New year, new reading opportunities!

I am starting my 2017 posts with another book haul, full of reads I am definitely looking forward to diving into. In the last months of 2016, Black Friday and a book festival have me the chance to purchase some bits that I was longing to have or that simply caught my eye.

I shall start with the translated books I bought. Library of Souls, by Ransom Riggs, may or may not be the one I am the most excited about. It is the third and final novel in theย Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Childrenย series, one of my favourite trilogies of all time. I cannot wait to experience (yet again) the unique world, the superbly-built characters and the haunting, but beautiful pictures scattered throughout the pages. I was lucky enough to be given some gorgeous, vintage cards with the main characters in the series. Special thanks to the kind man at the Art Publishing stand! ๐Ÿ™‚

dsc00619

Moving on, I finally put my hands on In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote. I have to say, I’ve been so tempted to read this after I saw the biographical film Capote, starring Philip Seymour Hoffman. I found it so brilliant and touching that I couldn’t skip reading one of Capote’s notable works. Everything, Everything, by Nicola Yoon, has also been on my wish list for a long time as I saw how loved it is in the BookTube community that I very dearly follow. What attracted me is how well-rated it is for a debut novel, introducing a special idea which I’ve never met in any of my reads – a girl with an allergy to the world. Lastly, I got The Lost Bible, by Igor Bergler, the most widely sold Romanian novel of the last 20 years! Big deal, huh? The paperback version was launched at Gaudeamus, the book festival I got all these reads from, and I was so excited to find out that all of the copies have autographs!

dsc00626

On Black Friday, I found some great deals on English-written books which I couldn’t pass! My current read is After You, by Jojo Moyes, the sequel to the well-known Me Before You, one of my best summer lectures. It seems to be a great, yet melancholic fill-in to the tragic end of the bestseller mentioned above, following the everyday life and difficulties of the main character. Cannot wait to see how it all ends!ย Girl Online Going Solo is the third book in the Girl Online series by my favourite YouTuber, Zoe Sugg. All of them are easy to read, but provide such delightful stories written in a sweet, friendly tone. Another popular novel in the BookTube network is Holding Up the Universe, by Jennifer Niven. I don’t know many facts about this book, but I absolutely loved All The Bright Places, written by the same author, so I have high hopes that this one will be just as good. And who knows? Maybe even better. As much as I need me some good YA novels, I had to get The Diary of a Young Girl, the memoir of Anne Frank. A true classic, it pictures not only the horrible faces of life during war, but also her pure soul, so mature for her age.

One of my main goals this year is to allow more of my time to reading. I hope you’ve enjoyed this book haul as much as I did. Expect more reviews coming in 2017!

Until next time! ๐Ÿ™‚

Alexandra

 

Leave a Reply

